random robin

Ten Most Re-Watchable & Non-Re-Watchable Movies

Top Ten Rewatchable Movies

Definitions and disclaimers: To me, a rewatchable is one that you can either see over and over again from start to finish OR one that every time you are flipping through the channels and see it on, you feel compelled to stop and watch it. There are some movies for me that even though I know it almost by heart, I just have an addiction. Can’t help it.

    1. The Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring – one of my all time favorites, story and characters. The Two Towers and Return of the King are up here too, but Fellowship is still first.

 

  • The Mummy & The Mummy Returns – I think they are 2 of the best action/adventure flicks with a great cast and just a fun, non-stressful viewing.

 

 

  • Monsters, Inc. – after a very huge breakdown from Disney and their pitiful movie offerings, Pixar came in and saved the day for us. I love animation and I think this is one of those movies that show the very best features and possibilities of the genre.

 

 

  • Empire Strikes Back – my all time favorite story and characters.

 

 

  • The Natural – this movie makes me cry every time. It’s ridiculous, I know. But it’s just such a great all-American love story that makes you feel so good at the end.

 

 

  • Super Troopers – Makes me giggle. “Ain’t so funny meow is it?”

 

 

  • Blazing Saddles tied with Monty Python and the Holy Grail – 2 of the all time most quotable movies.

 

 

  • Ocean’s Eleven – and I suspect Ocean’s Twelve. Just cool. All of us should be that cool at least once in our lifetime.

 

 

  • Office Space – another giggler. And one we all relate to. A little too much.

 

 

  • Fifth Element – I’m a big Bruce Willis fan, I’ll admit it. His snide remarks and dopey smirk just get me. And the story is pretty tight.

 

 

Top 10 Non-Rewatchable Movies

Definitions and disclaimers: If I can’t stand the movie at all or if it’s one of those movies that you have to be “in the mood” to watch. Doesn’t necessarily mean I didn’t like the movie – just one that I can’t see watching again, maybe ever again.

    1. Magnolia – one of the single toughest movies to watch. It was absolutely brilliant and amazingly acted and crafted. But man, was it tough to get through without feeling like you’re gonna have a nervous breakdown from all the stress and drama!

 

  • The last 20 minutes of The Lord of the Rings: Return of the King – yikes. Just about the slowest 20 minutes of your life. I know that was kind of the point, but still.

 

 

  • XXX – nuff said.

 

 

  • Groundhog Day – watching the movie once is like watching it 20 times already so it gets old fast. Still a great movie and I love Bill Murray. But you know what I mean here.

 

 

  • Traffic – movies that make you feel a lot worse about life after watching it are never good for a rewatch.

 

 

  • Phone Booth – one of the all time dumbest premises in movie history as far as I’m concerned. The people who made it should be forced to stand in a phone booth for 90 minutes on the hottest day of the year in a full length fur coat. And that still wouldn’t be as painful as watching this movie.

 

 

  • The Last of the Mohicans – the one with Daniel Day Lewis. He gets away with staring a lot. It was a little over the top with long lustful glances and an open abuse of a classic book.

 

 

  • Waterworld – ok, really anything with Kevin Costner. Great to look at, but please please don’t let him deliver any lines or long monologues! One major exception is A Perfect World. I think it was the fact the Kevin didn’t have so many lines, just walked around like a tough guy. That and the kid was awesome.

 

 

  • The Bridges of Madison County – I know it was supposed to be some great movie and book, but it was just so slow. I think I gave birth to my kids, watched them grow up and go off to college while watching that movie.

 

 

  • China Girl – you probably never heard of it and there’s a reason for that. Quite possibly one of the worst made movies – bad acting, bad story, bad characters, bad use of racial stereotyping.

 

 

Leave a Reply

