random robin

Today is to Remember

It’s been five years now since that day that is so locked in our public consciousness, in our hearts and souls. I know I can’t help but feel a certain dull pain in my chest on this day, a kind of general sadness that I can’t shake. But I don’t want to. Not today. Today is for remembering. Today is for reflecting.

For me, 9-11 is a day to remember how much people mean to me. How this moment, this time we have together, may always be our very last. How your hug goodbye could be your hug forever goodbye. How that quick kiss hello could be the sweetest one there ever is in your memory.

For me, I take this day to remember those I love most, the ones who make my life so much sweeter and smoother just for being there. Because all we have in life, and understand this fully, ALL WE HAVE is each other. It’s not your job. It’s not your house. It’s not your car or your paycheck or your awards. But guess what? It IS who you know. It ALWAYS IS about people and about those who raise your hand when you triumph, and hold it when you fail. Those who know your shoulder can be leaned on, your word is your promise. Those who fight for you when you need it most, but let you fight for yourself when the battle is all yours. Those who pray for you, who remember you, who cry for you and laugh with you, who take the time for you, and who send you mushy emails 🙂

I love you all very much. Take time today to love others.
God bless.

Leave a Reply

