random robin

Go Army

no, not that army.  although go that army too.

So I took the job with Salvation Army and I will most likely be starting next week some time.  Still waiting to hear when all the paperwork goes through the HQ and whatnot.  It’s funny how so many large organizations are the same.

Anyway, it’s been a long time since I have been actually excited about work!!! I am even typing with correct punctuation and capitalization and everything! THAT is just how excited I am 🙂

Honestly, my life goes in cycles and I can see how I’ve come full circle in a lot of ways from about 10 years ago.  The things I did back then and the direction my life was going until I derailed myself by choices I made.  I still believe everything happens for a reason and I am who I am now because of all the things I’ve experienced and done.  And I am right where I’m supposed to be and right on time. 

Also, I’m just finishing up a book by Madeline L’engle, the fiction writer, called Walking on Water: Reflections on Faith and Art.  It’s been very inspirational even though I am not always a fan of L’engle’s work itself.  She is very good at discussing the role of faith in art in general and how creativity is ultimately an expression of our God-made image.  It’s pretty interesting reading and she draws on a lot of artists across genres.  Plus it’s been the leading motivation for me to get more active in the arts community around town, well… assuming that there IS one around town.  yet to be determined.  I’ve put feelers out and just trying to network at this point.  I have to dust off some old music of mine and start writing more again. 

oh one other thing… I went to see this singer/songwriter dude last night at the William and Mary campus.  His name is Jason Harrod… look him up at http://www.myspace.com/jasonharrodmusic … folksy and a really smooth voice.  Carolina boy… you can picture him sitting on his back porch on a rocker overlooking the mountains. 

Leave a Reply

