random robin

“People are their principles, Hubble”

If you’ve ever seen the movie “The Way We Were” you’d recognize the title of this blog. Remember how much in love Hubble and Katie were and how their political slants pulled them apart? Nothing polarizes people like politics. You can’t ask a person to not believe what they deeply believe, and in the end what you believe should determine EVERYthing you do and choose in life. If it doesn’t then you are just a hypocrite.

That said, I find it amazing how couples like Mary Matalin and James Carville seem to make do.  If you aren’t familiar with them (well, where the heck have you been?) they are a married couple who staffed opposing parties during presidential elections and are staunch advocates for their own sides. Matalin and Carville have “gone on record” saying that they don’t talk politics at home, if you can believe that. it’s crazy. I can’t imagine that something that takes up so much of your time and energy and thought process is also something you can put aside and find other things to do and talk about with your spouse. I’m not sure I could do it.  Heck, I have a hard time dating anyone who is uber-conservative. I want to make him stand in a soup line for five days straight. Or maybe come to work with me for a few hours.

Anyway, I don’t see dating any right-wingers any time soon, but then again, I am a bit of an enigma. People like to say that “independents” are noncomittal. I say, you have no idea what you’re talking about. My problem with the two party system is I have no perfect alignment with either and I am SO about commitment that I cannot in good conscience commit fully to either.  I mean what’s the point if you are labelled by your party and everyone thinks they know you and your principles simply by saying “I’m a Democrat” or “I’m a Republican.” Politics are much more complicated than that but most people like to water it down into neat little columns. Ask me what I think about specific things and I’ll tell you. Just don’t squeeze me into your little columns.  I can’t be chained down like that, as some of you know better than others.

On the other hand (and there always IS another hand) I do believe in the balance of all things, and maybe dating someone who is way on the opposite end of me could be a good thing. I believe you should be challenged in your opinions at all times, because that strengthens your arguments and makes you dig deeper into what you believe and why.  Like I think that Governor Palin could use like 20 more debates so that she can get in some practice on how to ANSWER A QUESTION and little things like that.

Ok, let me stop before I get into a lot of trouble with y’all 🙂
May God bless America!!!
(in spite of how screwed up we are)

One thought on ““People are their principles, Hubble”

  1. I’m so not in to political labels that I don’t really even know what the heck is the difference between a liberal, moderate or conservative. I mean, just the words themselves give me some ideas of course, but I couldn’t tell you which I am. Probably a mix of all three, I’d say.

    I’d also say I think God has Blessed America. And I think we’re really, really screwing it up right now! Or at least we have been.

Leave a Reply

