random robin

Lame duck

One of our advisory board members at work started calling me the Lame Duck today. It made me sad but we still had a good laugh.  I have 4 days left at what was quite possibly the best job I’ve had to date.  Every time i really think about it and let the whole experience sink in, I just start to get weepy. You know it’s bad when I get weepy.

I’m generally not a weepy person. I am an emotional person, but not in the sense that I get all choked up about stuff. I’m more of a person who will gets really psyched about the Watchmen movie coming up or really really digs a wacked out work of art.  Not into the chick flicks and I have only shed a tear once in a romantic movie and that was mostly over the fact that it was such a bad bad movie that I was frustrated these people make more money than I do. And they suck!

So yesterday in church, I burst into tears over a song we’ve sung a hundred times at least, but the words just really hit me.  The Church’s one foundation – “Mid toil and tribulation, and tumult of her war, she waits the consummation of peace forevermore; till, with the vision glorious, her longing eyes are blest,  and the great church victorious shall be the church at rest.” The picture of being at rest forever in paradise, at peace and fulfilled, with all the hurt and sorrow and strife of this world over and long gone… sometimes it’s just too much to even think about, and I can’t help but cry.  Some days I really just feel like a lame duck – like I’m just waiting and waiting for it to be over and I can move on.  The difference of course is that we know when the inauguration is.

Speaking of, I am trying to get to DC for that.  History in the making. It’s exciting and I’d love to be there. I know a lot of my Christian friends are stressed, but I am excited about seeing what can happen with an entirely new point of view.  Sometimes we need extremes to move us in the right direction.  We’ll see…

One thought on “Lame duck

  1. It’s always hard to know what to say to someone facing what you are facing. One thing does come to mind though.

    QUACK!

    I know…. I’ve got a million of them.

    Mayonnaise?

Leave a Reply

