random robin

I love it when a plan comes together

As musicians know, sometimes you get something in your head and it won’t let you be until you can play it. I wake up at night sometimes with a tune or even just a chord floating in the air and I toss and turn until I can figure it out. And sometimes you can’t work on it yourself because it requires a few parts so you have to wait until you’re with other musicians and then try to communicate what’s in your head. It’s work. It’s fun and thrilling. But work nonetheless. And it’s such a relief when something you’ve heard in your head actually works. I can’t really explain it but it’s something along the lines of having to pee really bad and when you finally get to it feels really good. I’m sure there’s a better analogy out there, but that’s a fairly universal one.

Hopefully the recording of the service tomorrow night will come out halfway decently so I can upload it somewhere. The musicians at our church are just so awesome and it’s been a real privilege to work with them all. You guys rock !!!

 

advent

One thought on “I love it when a plan comes together

  1. I know what you mean! Except in my case, I no longer play any instruments, so the songs I wake up humming get no release. Good for you on working on them!

Leave a Reply

