random robin

eat meat = lose job

I’m so desperate I applied for a job with PETA!! (Hopefully they are not currently reading this… if so, of course you are my first choice in employers and I fully support your mission!!)

But seriously, I had applied years ago when an opening for an internship opened. I thought it woud be educational if nothing else. While I don’t necessarily espouse ALL of the actions taken, I do support their right to take said actions and agree with the underlying principles thereof.

That said, I can’t see not eating eggs. I encourage everyone to buy range-free eggs. As my sister-in-law related, her brother said he only eats “happy food.” I like that. My rule had been I only eat things that are smaller than me. And weigh less. Because I’m not sure most pigs would be shorter if stretched out, but they do weigh more. I think. *ahem* Moving on…

So in answering the rather lengthy survey on their website, I discovered that I actually didn’t have to lie or even stretch myself all that much to align with their stances. I carefully read their euthanasia policy (which almost made me tear up a bit) and looked through their current activities. The larger generic question of “Do you live a vegetarian lifestyle” made me sigh in relief, because I honestly thought that they would require vegan lifestyles. You know my affection for leather. But seriously, I can’t see giving up eggs or dairy because in the scheme of things, that is one of the most useful aspects of our animal-human relationship with chickens and cows. But I could and have done without eating said chickens and cows for sure.

The other question they ask is about having any pet companions and I sadly had to answer no. I miss having a dog and cats. I had up to 9 cats at one point. That was good times. When I get my own place again, i will have a cat and maybe a dog as well. It will depend on several factors, but really I dont see my life without them. And eventually I really really want a pig.

Anyway, I’ll keep you posted. In the meantime, for inspiration, I’m gonna watch The Year of the Dog again. It was pretty good. Maybe I’ll end up like Molly Shannon’s character…

One thought on “eat meat = lose job

Leave a Reply

