random robin

get a job

first of all, i would like to say that I always knew geese were terrorists. plus, I had this sense that my BFF was not on that plane and I was right. I kinda feel like I would know – kinda like the force is with us – like I’m Yoda and she’s Obi wan. Or maybe she’s Darth Vader and I’m the Emperor. not sure.

anyway, moving on…

I’d like to take a quick look at unemployment for a moment. Not the stats mind you, just the realities.  I find myself getting panicky as the days tick by, wondering if something will break, and getting the sheer pleasure of recounting all the mistakes I’ve made in my career thus far.  I wish I was in a different place right now, financially and experientially, able to do some of the things I want to do instead of what I have to do to make ends meet.

The harsh reality of getting a job is that you have to have money to make money. There are costs involved in the job search, such as transportation to and from the interview, phone service, email/internet searches, paper for the resume, not to mention time and effort. I know people who have been put into such desperate times that they have ended up sleeping their cars at night or getting into bad relationships just to have a place to stay and food to eat.  I’m lucky in that I have a roof over my head and the gracious hospitality of my parents who did make good decisions to live a comfortable retirement (my dad was a school teacher for the same district for 40+ years). I have no doubt that people who stick with one thing their entire career are much better off than those who have flailed about seeking some kind of personal satisfaction from work. I’m beginning to think there is no such thing.

So I keep looking and hoping that someone out there will want me. I’m a little tired of rejection, mutual as it may be in most cases. (Even Target won’t call me back!!) I hope for the perfect fit, but I am trying not to be idiotic. The question for me now is how naive do I have to continue to be to stay where I am? It’s a scary question. And where else would I go????

Help me Obi wan Kenobi. You’re my only hope.

😦

One thought on “get a job

  1. Heh, OK, I’m Obi!

    Well, after being unemployed for 6 months last year, I can tell you how sick of it I was that I finally had to accept a job across the country! SURE I like the opportunity I have, but I SURE would like to work in the state that I chose to live in. Sometimes you just gotta do what you gotta do, and take the most far flung opportunity that presents itself.

    Of course, that wasn’t the only time I’ve been unemployed for long periods of time….ugh. I know exactly how it is. Keep your chin up girl. And don’t be afraid to explore something wayyy outside the box.

    And use the force.

Leave a Reply

