family · womens issues

can you have your cake

… and pop out of it too?

I was recently reading an article about the mom in North Carolina (great state that it is) who is fighting her call to duty. Follow the link here for the full article. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/29441874/

It makes me think about a lot of questions about being a parent and the decision people make to become one and to continue to be one, good or bad. I don’t have the energy right now to go into it, plus the power may go out (again) any minute. But I wanted to get this posted so I can further stew and get back to it another day. It makes me a little sad and mad simultaneously. But more than anything it makes me really happy that I have not popped out a kid yet. Nor have I popped out of a cake. But it’s good to have goals.

One thought on “can you have your cake

  1. Thanks for the link. I am not sure how I feel about this issue as well. Must admit that I was in the military (USAF)84-88 and held off having my kids until later. I saw too many families separated by military agendas, and simply didn’t want to be one of them.
    WAY back when I finished my tour of duty they always said that they may call you back if something huge happened. I know I was relieved when my “inactive duty” time past and I knew I was “safe” from being called back…but that was way before America was at war.
    The irony of this article–the have many stateside or duties they could place her in. She simply has been on of the few that they didn’t accommodate.
    As a Mom I know how important it has been for me to BE there for my kids. As a veteran I know she did sign up and agree to her contract at some point. SO…I totally get the “mad and sad” simultaneously part of it.
    Re: popping a kid out/vs popping out of a cake…don’t do either until you are ready. Don’t let anyone try to tell you that you are ready when you aren’t. Parents and family pressured me for years. I reveled in my singledom until I was ready for marriage…and we reveled in each other until WE were ready for more. Cherish each moment for what it is.
    🙂 Cheekyredhead

Leave a Reply

