arts, movies, music, pop culture

mamma mia! stop singing!

I avoided watching it for awhile but my mom rented it and I was compelled to it. It’s the train wreck/car accident/what’s that smell thing we morbidly curious people do. we have to see it and figure out where it’s coming from.

the most pressing question of the day: does Colin Firth really play the guitar in Mamma Mia???  because if so, he suddenly just jumped to the top of my list. i have loved him since i first set eyes on him in that really lame Valmont thing. he is cuter than my hello kitty purse. and that’s way cute.

But seriously, one thing that really struck me about the movie version of Mamma mia is that we should all be way more grateful for Pro Tools than we probably are as a society.  Let me explain. No there is too much…

See Pro Tools is a program for music production, and a singer’s best friend. It can take your uber flat note and make it pitch perfect. So no matter how tragically offensive their singing may have ended up, you can bet your bottom dollar that it was SO.MUCH.WORSE in the studio! I for one will attest to how difficult it can be to sing. well, it’s difficult to sing on key and maintain good tone. oh and not sound winded. or raspy. or strained. or generally horrific.

I won’t name any names, but let’s just say that the sole highlight for me was the possibility that Colin Firth plays guitar. ‘cuz that’s hot. Other than that, I’ll admit that I sang along – loudly – mostly so I couldn’t hear the actors. It was kinda like karaoke night. Except I miss karaoke night.

One thought on “mamma mia! stop singing!

  1. Yes, Colin Firth plays the guitar. He has played as a hobby for several years. He has said playing Our Last Summer in Mamma Mia was rather simple for him. He plays a guitar like instrument and sings in The Importance of Being Earnest if you haven’t seen it already.

Leave a Reply

