random robin

it was a very good year

I cant believe another year has come and gone. It’s incredible to look back and think of all the things that have happened. And the things that have not. Being the procrastinator that I am I just kinda keep this To Do list constantly stocked up – I mean, what’s the point of having a To Do list with one thing on it?

But seriously, in thinking about all the things I want to do in the coming year, well, heck, the coming weeks, I get a little glassy eyed with how that breaks down into tasks. Whoa.

The good news is that I’m task oriented and I love being busy. Sometimes I think the real curse is biting off LESS than you can chew. That leaves a lot of room in your mouth for nonsense to spew out. haha.

So here’s my first installment of “3 Things x 12 months = 36 things” (I can’t think of a better title for it)

1. New place in Williamsburg = 415 Grill Karaoke

So Joanie and i hit up a “hot” spot for the college crowd – 415 Grill which is normally a respectable restaurant in the Williamsburg Hospitality House. The WHH is a well situated hotel, right smack dab in the middle of campus and what some may refer to as the “downtown” area. Which mostly, in Williamsburg, means where they have more than 5 buildings next to each other.

We arrived quite early to scope out the scene and decided to go sit and gab and see what happened. At about 10pm, the 415 Grill turns into the version of a college town club, complete with boys in track suits and girls in as little as possible and totally IMpossible spiked heels. I tried with all my might to remember the last time I was in a place such as this with people such as these, and it didn’t turn out well. A few memories flooded back that will remain memories, which are usually best left unspoken. And unblogged.

Then the real weirdness happened. The karaoke. We had heard there was karaoke and I have to admit I have never seen it done quite like this before. Pretty much it was a dance floor with music you dance to, intertwined with people grabbing the mic and singing along with the lyrics on a small tv monitor. The place packed up with co-eds (does anyone call college students co-eds anymore?) and the atmosphere was best described as noneducational. Let’s just say that “Who let the dogs out” would go better there than “Wind beneath my wings.”

So the quest for a good karaoke joint continues.

2. “Old” Friend =Viatris

Ok so she’s not old and she’s not old in the sense of being far removed. But i hadn’t seen her since before last Christmas which is going to count for my purposes. I miss her and her daily talks at work, when we worked together at Salvation Army. She was still cheery though maybe a little less hectic than she is at the office. haha. We ran into each other for about 15 minutes outside the wine tasting – which I was an hour late for and she was TWO hours late for. 🙂 I’m just glad we saw each other at all.

Vi, you’re beautiful and I love ya. Prayers for you go up daily!! Let’s hang out again soon! Before next year’s Christmas, at least ok?!

3. Writings = So I wrote a song. It’s not the best and I’m thinking about completely changing the melody cuz I got another idea really really really late the other night, as I often do, and didnt get a chance to record it. I need one of those little minicassette recorders… note to self… buy mini cassette recorder. Anyway, it’s called “Full Circle” and it is tentatively somber…

i said
for the last time i said
bring it down and burn it
on the bonfire
i’m tired of seeing it
tired of being the same
again and again

i watched it burn before
saw the writing on the wall
turned my head to face
the other way
but my feet turned
full circle

for the last time i cry
will it always be this way
or will i fly
someday on mended broken wings
with pure light on my face
where i started once upon a time

And finally, thanks to my family who are awesome, and to my friends who dropped by – a pleasant surprise!! Liz K, John and Jen D, Amy, Bryon, Laura and Dan, Nathan and Jeni, and Jean-Marc and Jenny. And especially Jenny who secretly invited people 🙂 You’re so great girl! I’m so glad to have you around! Much love to you all!

Leave a Reply

