arts, movies, music, pop culture · random robin

promises promises

Some people always have excuses. it’s like a constant excuse-a-matic. it was raining. it was sunny. my dog ate it, threw it up and ate it again. and then there are those who constantly find ways of pinning it on others, a la adam and eve, but it was the one armed man. that person who you made caused me to yada yada yada.

I tend to be the kind of person who takes the blame for things even when it is totally not my fault. like i spent 20 minutes on the phone with a client yesterday saying i was sorry for verizon’s mistakes. i really don’t feel that verizon needs my defense, but in the interest of client satisfaction we do these things.

the point though is that i am totally deaf to excuses. i’m sure you have perfectly legit ones and that’s fine. all i know is it’s done or it’s not done and i’m either affected by it or completely not affected by it. I’m pretty sure that’s the most selfish way to look at it, but in a way it is the least selfish.

Here’s what i mean.

If you ask someone to do something (which is a huge thing for me in the first place – i loathe asking for help because i’m dumb) you then are counting on that being taken care of and spend your energy on something else. You plan according to the assumption that will happen and when it isn’t done it could make the entire thing fall apart. For me, I have come to the conclusion that everything happens as it is supposed to and I just refuse to sweat it any more. “It is what it is” or like a t-shirt i saw recently “it is = it is.” And all I spend energy on caring about any more is what *I* do and the choices I do have control over. I can’t let other people’s decisions control me. And at the end of the day, so very few things really truly matter.

That said, i love when people just pony up. Do or do not, there is no try. (I’m so full of piths today.) Better yet, I love when people anticipate what you need and just do it. I have found that a very very rare and precious trait in people. The visionaries, the dreamers, the foreseers. I would like to think that I’m in that group, and have been told as much. I have thought out of the box long before pop culture told us there was a box. And I love to think and dream about what could be and not what is or what is wrong with what is. I have high hopes almost all the time, for better or for worse.

So all this to say, stay tuned for bigger and better. There’s always something just around the bend.

love this song and this video is pretty cool. i love creative people 🙂

Leave a Reply

