dating and singlehood · womens issues

Another brilliant conversation

Woman: so my daughter is starting to get really worried. She’s been in 3 weddings this last year and her friend just got engaged. She seemed to be ok at the last wedding but she was really sad afterwards.

Me: oh I know the feeling, that will pass.

Woman: well that’s why I’m talking to you.

Me: (blank stare)

Woman: you know I was thinking maybe you had something to say to her, to encourage her.

Me: um, sure, maybe. How old is your daughter?

Woman: she’s 26.

Me: (thinking, don’t punch her, don’t punch her, don’t punch her) um, well, tell her to give me a call… (walking away, under my breath) …in 10 years.

~

Leave a Reply

