faith

our portion

So it hit me like a ton of bricks last night, as I sat by myself in the sound booth of our church getting ready for Maundy Thursday service. This would be the last MT service led by Brandon Barrett. At least for Grace Covenant Pres in Williamsburg, and at least for the foreseeable future.

I turned off the computer, the sound board and all the lights and I sat in the middle of the sanctuary and BALLED MY EYES OUT. And when the sadness passed, I started to sing (and sidenote:  if you know our church sanctuary, the acoustics to do this are pretty awesome) …

The Lord has promised good to me.
His word my hope secures.
He will my shield and portion be,
As long as life endures

While I am so sad about the Barretts leaving, and losing a great man who has been our shepherd and friend, I also know God’s Amazing Grace has brought us safely this far and His grace will lead us home.

I am looking forward to seeing how God will work on all of our behalfs in the months to come. I am anxious, sure, and I feel this blanket of sorrow here and there, like tonight at various times through the service.  But it was the reminder I needed that God loves us and goes before us, even to death, to make a way for us to always be with Him.

Leave a Reply

