dating and singlehood · learn · pop culture

a group of words about Valentine’s Day

First off, this isn’t about me being single and bitter. I love love. I’ve been in love. I’ve been that annoying chick who thinks the world revolves around a certain someone and no one can tell me different.

But even when I was in a relationship, Valentine’s Day seemed so trite to me. Let’s remember this isn’t an actual holiday…  it’s a commercial construct to remind most heterosexual men in relationships that they are in love and they can prove it with purchases. And it’s drumming up business for restaurants, which is all fine by me. Sure, buy more cards. There are SO MANY CARDS to be bought! And sure, buy flowers – though not for me because I’m not really a fan of taking a beautiful living thing and massacreing it so I can enjoy it in a vase on my table to slowly watch it die die die.

Don’t get me wrong, I do believe in love, its power and its revolutionary tendencies to change lives forever. It is a beautiful wondrous thing worth celebrating for sure. But the day itself, much like most other “holidays” (ie Christmas, Easter) are just shadows of what they are intended for. So yea, celebrate the shadow if you must. Because as human beings, we often need the shadow to remind us of the actual object – or we’d ignore it all together.

drawing by Saffy
Leave a Reply

