my love life as told through Disney princesses – part 1

I’ve always been a bit of a dreamer. You could say a bit of a poof really. When I was a kid, you could catch me singing into hairbrushes and random cords to blinds or whatnot that would make kid sized microphones with cables. By the time I was 4 or 5 I would say that I wanted to be a singer like Amy Grant and I had visions of being on a stage with a guitar in a stadium and crowds screaming and singing along.

Well I forgot to learn guitar.

I wasn’t much for Cinderella as she was a little too blonde for me, plus I’m allergic to birds dressing me. But when I saw Snow White, I thought that seemed like the ideal situation to just go to sleep and some handsome prince would come by and kiss me and that would be that.

Fast forward and I realized that I was a bit of a brat. I wanted the world on a platter. And much like Belle of Beauty and the Beast and Ariel of Little Mermaid, I simply wanted more. I wanted adventure. I wanted someone to conquer the world with. I wanted to walk on two feet without tripping.

And in a way you can’t help but notice how all these chicks were spoiled brats. I blame their doofus dads partly because my dad rocks and is the very best of men and so while I do feel somewhat spoiled, I’d like to think I’m not a total idiot.

But I did find myself settling for guys who were nice enough, had good jobs, made a decent living, put the toilet seat down and opened doors for me. Nothing wrong with any of that. And I’m not looking for a prince per se, cuz I don’t believe in royalty as a concept and would seek to usurp thrones and create a system of equality because supreme executive power derives from a mandate from the masses.

And then you have the Aladdin and Flynn from Tangled who are thieves and a general menace to society, but turn out to be nice guys and totally luck out with the ladies because of their dashing good looks. But let me ask you this, what exactly are they contributing to the relationship?? haha. I’m just kidding. But yeah, I’ve certainly been in that relationship where I had to try really really hard to look beyond his great hair and winsome facial structure.

So here I am at the ripe old age of the ripe old age I’m at and I think about whether or not I am actually a princess and just being stubborn. Transforming a beast seems like a lot of work to me, and generally speaking I’m against trying to change someone so they will be with you. But there is also something to be said for the right woman to help a man achieve great things – behind every great man and all that. There is also something to be said for waiting for the extraordinary and being willing to wait a ridiculously long time to get it. I’m not good at settling. Go amazing or go home.

But I can see where that’s super intimidating. I recently rewatched The Lion King and it really struck home with me. You know since I was a lion in my previous life. As were all Leos. (yea I’m a Leo… I’m convinced that, if I believed in these things, I am a Leo. Because if you think you are, you probably are – that’s how leos work right? haha)

Anyway, so Simba is having a really tough time accepting his father’s death and his responsibility as the leader. And we all know it’s easier to just go through life all hakuna matata and what not. But eventually, he has to step up and accept his place in the kingdom and circle of life and Elton John’s relentless career in cheesy songs.

And while I’m no Matthew Broderick (can’t grow sideburns to save my life) I do feel, at times, that God has big ideas for me and I am just trying to be of some good while I’m here. And maybe my big problem has always been that I relate more to the princes – conclusion? I’m looking for my princess? no that can’t be right…

In the meantime, I’m just going about my business and doing what I can for the kingdom. Just waiting for my big finish… can’t wait to be king.

One comment

Leave a comment