Uncategorized

every once in awhile, I like to repost this in case my geek cred is dropping

The wife & times of Reverend Wootton

I like comic books. I can’t help it. Attribute it to a short attention span or an inability to read more than a handful of words at a time. I don’t know, but I have gained an appreciation for the mix of graphic and story that only comics can offer.

I could go into a long treatise about the history of sequential art and its use in communication and expression in both the arts and literature, but Scott McCloud covered it quite nicely. He also discussed at length the potential of the graphic image in storytelling and I would argue that is precisely why movies tend to do better than books (in profit margins and popularity at any rate).

What intrigues me though in comic books of the past, say, twenty years is the sheer context that writers take on in these works. For many people, myself included about 10…

View original post 792 more words

Leave a Reply

