dating and singlehood · faith · pop culture · random robin

how to make someone love you

If you’ve come to find out how to make someone you love love you back, well, you’ve come to the exact WRONG place for all that. Cuz I sure as heck don’t know! I have certainly had all the worst experiences chasing after someone who would rather be boiled alive in a vat of dead skunk organs than spend time with me, and yet, somehow this is appealing to my soul…

In all seriousness, though, there are few greater pains in life than the realization that the person you set your affections on does not have the same affections set on you.I wouldn’t wish that realization on my greatest enemies. If I had any.

Someone once said, to love is to die. I think it was Johnny the Homicidal Maniac (a comic book series I cannot recommend to anyone because it is so insane. well I mean, the title… duh)

But really, when you add up all of human history’s experience with romance, what you get is a lot of pain and misery and people misunderstanding each other and being afraid to take chances and wandering off into the woods to be lost forever.

On the flip side, because there is *always* a flip side, there are these great conquests for love and heroes and heroines make these great strides in the name of their love and their future and what-have-yous. I mean Helen of Troy launched a thousand ships and stuff, right? Love, lust, power, whatever. They’re all basically the same.

Before I get any more cynical, I will say that my heart hurts for friends who are in despair. Either on the one end of the spectrum, having found who they think is their true love but is unrequited- or the other end feeling out at sea with no land in sight and wondering which direction to paddle. I wish I had more to say. I wish I had exactly what you need to hear to stop the hurt and the frustration and loneliness. I wish I could wave a magic wand and click my ruby shoes and do the hand jive and make it all perfect for you. But I’m all out of pumpkins and helpful mice and magic is so 1980s. We’ll always need love, sweet love, but we have learned that it’s hard work and eventually, you have to pay down that loan. Love is a loan, in many ways. And the greater the investment, the higher the payout and the risk. We need more risk takers. With good financial advisors.

and now for something almost completely different…

from Johnny the Homicidal Maniac… squee!!

Leave a Reply

