arts, movies, music, pop culture · faith · random robin

one blick at a time

Ok, the “asian” pronunciation thing aside… this is making me laugh…

Cherry: We’ll be ready.
Barnum: You intend rebuilding an entire museum in two days?
Cherry: I do, my treasure!

“It’s just a case of learning how to start.”

Sometimes life is so overwhelming. I watch the engineers at my office start a new project, just staring at a blank screen. Or I see someone opening a garage door and slowly taking stock of all the junk piled high and deep. You just want to scream, cry, rant, pull rank and make someone else do it, throw something, punch something, or all of the above. But it’s one brick at a time. You can try to throw them all in place at once but it won’t happen very well.

I sat in my living room last night staring at the couch. Do I want this couch? I love this couch. Of course I want this couch. And then on to the chair. And the kitchen table. (Which by the way I’m getting rid of if anyone wants it.) And taking stock of my life as told by my things and I can’t stop smiling. I have a good life. I live in a life where I can decide whether or not I want to keep clothing, not what am I going to do when this one sweater I own finally falls apart. I am blessed and get to have first world problems.

But there’s something to be said for having so little and just needing enough to get through the day. Just focusing on what is in front of you, letting everything else fade for the moment, and putting heart and soul into THIS. Right here right now. And when that’s done, it’s the next thing and the next and the next. And before you know it, it’s 5 oclock and your desk is clear and you get to drive through the tunnel and see the other side.

Well, that’s the general idea.

Leave a Reply

