faith · random robin

my strength, my comforter

“And I will ask the Father and He will send to you another Comforter.” John 14:16

I woke up this morning thinking about what I was doing today, the good times to be had with friends and music I was sure to enjoy and a beautiful crisp fall day. I’ve been busy with work and love and plans and wedding that I promised myself today would be a day I take my own advice and enjoy the moment. And I did. It was a good day.

November 3rd is always a sad day when I see the date somewhere, on a newspaper or on my phone when checking my texts. I don’t cry or despair like I once did. I don’t give in to the melancholy though I easily could. I could let my mind run in a hundred directions all leading to sad and inconsolable. But I don’t let it get to that. I enjoy my cup of coffee. I thrill on every note sung by my beautiful lovely friend at her recital. I listen intently to the words spoken and I think on all the good wonderful things happening all around me, full of hope and good cheer.

It is a comfort to know how far I’ve come. It is my joy to know that I have found peace and rest in this day, unlike the many November 3rds that have come and gone. And I rejoice in it.

What heights of love, what depths of peace
When fears are stilled, when strivings cease
My Comforter, my All in All
Here in the love of Christ I stand!

– Getty/ Townend

 

Leave a Reply

