faith · family · parenting · pop culture · womens issues

first of skirtember: an introduction

I came across a post by a friend, also a relatively new mom, about Skirtember. I thought, oh goody, another ploy to get people to post selfies. We were in need of that. But then I started actually reading why the skirted selfies and I realized this is very much something I can get on board with. So here I am…

Skirtember 1st

I will admit that there were times in the first few days of motherhood I thought, this is easy. And then there were times when my infant and I competed for loudest and longest cry ever. It is such a rollercoaster of emotions, exhaustion and elation, life at its best and worst over the first few weeks – heck, hours! – of a new baby. From babe-tastrophe to babyliciousness, newborn life cycles back and forth faster than you can say “diaper rash.” It’s amazing that more women are not stark raving mad.

And maybe we are. Maybe the point is that we all are finally admitting that this is soooo hard. It’s the hardest thing I’ve ever done. Hands down. I don’t even have to think about it. Being a mom is the single hardest thing I have ever had to do. I had just turned 40 and 5 days later had my first baby. Everything in life prepared me for this and nothing in life prepared me for this. I read books. I laughed at books that completely led me astray.

The saga continues now with an almost 3 year old (insert ubiquitous mom-phrase of “Where did the time go” here) and 16 month old. Every day, every hour and moment really, I have to choose to be a mom. I have to think about my kids. What are they doing? What can they eat? What will I allow them to eat and not feel guilty about? What will I give them to eat because it’s in the house and everything else requires a lot more than I can give at the moment and ok ok we’ll have more goldfish for dinner.

I didn’t get on board with Skirtember on September 1 because, well, because I’m a mom of two toddlers. But I’m here now. And I am with you. I am soooo with you!!! More thoughts to come… when I get to it.

###

 

Leave a Reply

