arts · faith

all things new or all new things?

“Behold I am making all things new.”

Some time ago, I read good advice on how to keep your kids from being bored with their toys. You take at least half of what they have and you box them up and out of sight. You have some toys that are only for the car, some for their room, some for their play area. When it seems they are moving on from what they have in one place, you trade out those toys with toys you’ve been stashing and it’s like they have brand new toys to play with. Brilliant. It’s worked really well for us.

It reminds me how we like new things. Brand new or new to us. Some people like the smell of a new car. Some people only like new clothes and wouldn’t be caught in a Goodwill buying clothes unless it was for Halloween. I personally hate buying new clothes when I know there are little children in some dingy factory somewhere making the fabric or sewing their little fingers off. Ugh. Another blog for another time, but suffice it to say that there’s nothing like finding a perfectly good outfit for $5 that used to be in someone else’s closet.

The question is do we really want to see all things made new or do we want all new things? We live in the king of culture and society that prizes newness. New is everything. New toys, new cars, new houses, new clothing, new marriages, new jobs, new new new… I think it comes from what we really need. We know we need a change. We know we something to give. We get tired of the same old. We get broken stuff, broken people, broken relationships. We want to just replace them. But like my husband has said before, redemption is far more beautiful than perfection. Don’t you long to see restoration of something that was once broken, useless, lifeless, lost, into something glorious and amazing? I do.

It’s God incarnate, really. It’s God saying, I’ve come for you. And I’m not going to just wipe you out and start over. I’m going to take you and I’m going to restore you. And not just eventually, like a pie in the sky dream. Right now. I’m changing you and giving you a better way, the only way that leads to anything good. And it will be beautiful. It IS beautiful, right now, because YOU are beautiful.

###

And I’m not the only one who loves the restoring of all things…

Leave a Reply

